ZEISS under the ESRS Lens
Sustainability disclosures · Group 3

ZEISS under the ESRS lens

A voluntary first report, read for clarity, completeness and transparency, and benchmarked against EssilorLuxottica.

Move the pointer over the title to inspect it.
Analysed · ZEISS

FY 2024/25, published 30 Jan 2026. ESRS applied voluntarily. No external assurance.

Benchmark · EssilorLuxottica

FY 2024, URD chapter 6. Mandatory CSRD reporting. Limited assurance.

Sources: sustainability report and website, ESG rating providers, regulatory trackers, press and NGO searches. Evidence published after the reporting periods is marked “post-reporting”.

Alondra Sofia Augustine · Matteo Gala · Chilanay Jafarli-Suleymanli · Jacqueline Martin-Ikpehai · Dajana Petrovic · Aparna Sri · Sanja Zvonar1
ZEISS · Sector and headquarters

A foundation-owned optics group

€11.9bnrevenue, FY 2024/25
46,600+employees
~50countries

Four segments

Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology Industrial Quality & Research Medical Technology Consumer Markets · vision care

Vision care is the overlap with EssilorLuxottica.

Headquarters and ownership

  • Oberkochen, Germany
  • Wholly owned by the Carl Zeiss Foundation, unlisted
  • Report approved by the CEO; same perimeter as the financial statements
Source: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/252
External view

Almost nobody outside ZEISS is checking

ESG rating · Sustainalytics risk score

27.5
Negligible 0–10Low 10–20Medium 20–30High 30–40Severe 40+

The ZEISS Group is unlisted and unrated; the report cites no rating. The only proxy is Carl Zeiss Meditec: Medium risk, rank 351 of 588 in healthcare.

Proxy: Carl Zeiss Meditec AG, listed medtech subsidiary, 59.1% owned by Carl Zeiss AG.

Regulation

Germany missed the July 2024 CSRD transposition deadline and faces an EU infringement procedure. ZEISS has no legal obligation yet.

Scrutiny

No NGO reports or sustainability controversies found. Independent coverage is almost non-existent.

So whatWith little external pressure, everything rests on the quality of the self-disclosure.
Sources: Sustainalytics; Debevoise (Sep 2025); Carl Zeiss Meditec HGB disclosures 2024/253
ZEISS · Context analysis

Value chains mapped per business unit

Step 1 of the materiality assessment covers

  • Business models and activities
  • Main products and services
  • Key markets and customer groups
  • Sites and headcount in scope
  • Geographical, geopolitical and regulatory environment
Strength

Nature as a “silent stakeholder”

The environment is listed among the stakeholders whose interests count.

CritiqueSemiconductor optics and vision care have very different impact profiles, but results are shown only at Group level. The reader cannot see which segment each IRO comes from.
IRO = impacts, risks and opportunities · Source: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/25, p. 304
ZEISS · Stakeholder engagement

Experts speak for the stakeholders

“Stakeholders were not directly consulted, but their views were incorporated by internal experts.”ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/25, p. 31

Indirect inputs used

Due diligence under the German Supply Chain Act (LkSG), sector studies and benchmarks, feedback from an external consulting firm.

Ongoing dialogue

Customers, suppliers, employees and investors are reached through ordinary channels, but none of them took part in the materiality assessment.

CritiqueAffected stakeholders have no direct voice in deciding what is material.
Source: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/255
ZEISS · Materiality: topics and IROs

Readable results, hidden scoring

1
Understand the contextValue chains per business unit
2
Basic list of IROsESRS topics, former GRI topics, risk register, consultant
3
Expert assessmentSeverity and likelihood; financial size and probability

Material

E1E2 PFASE3E5S1S2S3S4

Not material

E4 biodiversityG1 · reported anywayClimate opportunities
Not disclosedRating scales, number of IROs and the threshold value (“above the set threshold”). E4 is excluded without a rationale. Climate opportunities fall below the threshold for a group selling into semiconductors, e-mobility and renewables.
Source: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/25, pp. 30–326
ZEISS · Climate: commitments, scopes, targets, actions

Own operations shrank; the value chain did not

GHG emissions, tCO₂e, on one scale

offset with credits OWN OPERATIONS · SCOPE 1+2 VALUE CHAIN · SCOPE 3 ≈ 97%
Scope 3 · FY 2023/24
1,993,729
Scope 1+2 location-based
259,926
Scope 1+2 market-based
66,719 · all offset

Scope 1+2 down 68% against 2018/19. Scope 3 is reported one year behind. Climate is analysed for ZEISS only; the grid excludes it from the comparison.

Gaps

  • Targets to 2024/25 were “not science-based”
  • Scope 3 targets in the report are only qualitative
  • No full ESRS transition plan
  • No climate scenario analysis in FY 2024/25
  • Result depends on green-power contracts and carbon credits
Post-reporting

SBTi-validated targets, May 2026: Scope 1+2 −42%, relevant Scope 3 −25% by 2030.

Sources: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/25, pp. 45–50; ZEISS press release, May 20267
ZEISS · Standards and assurance

ESRS adopted early, checked by nobody

Standards

  • First report based on CSRD/ESRS, applied voluntarily
  • Replaces the GRI Standards used in earlier reports
  • No EU Taxonomy disclosure

Assurance

“The report is not subject to external assurance.”p. 7 · approved by the CEO only

NOT ASSURED
CritiqueNo independent check of the materiality process, the data or the claims.
Source: ZEISS Sustainability Report 2024/258
ZEISS · Synthesis

A good-faith first step, but thin

Strengths

  • Early, voluntary adoption of ESRS
  • Clear, readable IRO tables by topic
  • Measured Scope 1+2 cut: −68% against 2018/19

Areas for improvement

  • No external assurance
  • No direct stakeholder consultation
  • Scales, IRO count and threshold not disclosed

Also: biodiversity excluded without a rationale · no climate scenario analysis · Scope 3 one year behind · offsets · no Taxonomy disclosure.

Our assessment9
Comparison · Sector and headquarters

Same lens market, different pressures

ZEISSEssilorLuxottica
SectorDiversified optics; vision care is one segmentPure eyecare and eyewear; about 18,000 stores
HeadquartersOberkochen, GermanyCharenton-le-Pont, France
OwnershipFoundation-owned, unlistedListed on Euronext Paris
RegimeVoluntary ESRS, Germany not transposedMandatory CSRD, France transposed
ThesisLegal obligation and investor pressure explain much of the gap in rigour on the next slides.
Sources: both reports; Debevoise (Sep 2025)10
Comparison · Context and stakeholders

One asked the stakeholders, one did not

ZEISSEssilorLuxottica
ContextValue chain per business unit; nature as silent stakeholderDesk research, 16-peer benchmark, ESG risks from the risk register
ConsultationNone; internal experts as proxiesSurvey: 243 invited, 134 replies; 18 interviews, 5 workshops
External voiceAbsent35% external response rate
ZEISS · stakeholders consulted
0

Simpler, but internal experts stood in for every stakeholder.

EssilorLuxottica · survey replies
Internal
89 of 115
External
45 of 128
Sources: ZEISS report pp. 30–31; EssilorLuxottica URD 2024, §6.1.4.111
Comparison · Materiality: topics and IROs

Same topics, one hidden funnel

ZEISS
E1E2E3E4E5S1S2S3S4G1
8 of 10 topical standards
EssilorLuxottica
E1E2E3E4E5S1S2S3S4G1
9 of 10 · 41 IROs: 5 positive, 15 negative impacts, 15 risks, 6 opportunities
EssilorLuxottica
EFRAG IG 1 · 4 steps
81matters
25clusters
87potential IROs
41material IROs
ZEISS
own method · 3 steps
?basic list
?scales
?threshold
?material IROs

Entity-specific topics

ZEISS: none · EssilorLuxottica: 3
vision-care access, local development, OneSight

Business conduct

G1 is material for EssilorLuxottica only. ZEISS reports it anyway.

Shared gap

Both exclude E4 biodiversity without a rationale.

Sources: ZEISS report pp. 30–32; EssilorLuxottica URD 2024, §6.1.4.112
Comparison · Standards and assurance

One report was checked, one was not

ZEISS
ESRS · voluntaryGHG ProtocolSBTi · post-reportingEU Taxonomy
EssilorLuxottica
ESRS · mandatoryEFRAG IG 1EU TaxonomyGHG ProtocolTCFDSBTiGRISASBUN Global CompactISO 14001 · 45001
ZEISSEssilorLuxottica
Assurance providerNone: “not subject to external assurance”Statutory auditors: PwC Audit and Forvis Mazars
LevelNoneLimited, not reasonable
ScopeNoneMateriality process · ESRS compliance · EU Taxonomy (Art. 8)
ConclusionNoneUnmodified
CaveatsNone statedFirst-year uncertainty; two late acquisitions excluded; some E2 metrics partial; no opinion on targets
Sign-offCEOBoard, after Audit and Risk Committee
Sources: ZEISS report p. 7; EssilorLuxottica URD 2024, ch. 6 and statutory auditors’ certification report13
Comparison · Clarity, completeness, transparency

Clearer to read, harder to trust

ZEISSEssilorLuxottica Clarity Completeness Transparency

Click a grade to see the reason.

Where ZEISS leads

Clarity: a short report with readable tables.

Widest gap

Transparency: no assurance and no disclosed scoring.

Why

Obligation and investor pressure (slide 10) push EssilorLuxottica to disclose more.

Grades are our group assessment14
Conclusion · Verdict in focus

Clarity good; completeness and transparency weak

ZEISS took a readable, voluntary first step. EssilorLuxottica is the stronger benchmark on disclosure. Both are typical of a first ESRS year.

1

Obtain limited assurance

Start with the materiality process, as EssilorLuxottica did.

2

Consult affected stakeholders

Survey and interview them directly, not through proxies.

3

Publish the scoring

Scales, IRO count, threshold, and why E4 is not material.

Thank you.Group 3 · Questions and discussion